Sherlock Series Four Episode One Synopsis Released


As you probably know by now, episode one of Sherlock Series Four is called ‘The Six Thatchers’ – a title that has a double meaning for fans. On the one hand, it is a play on Conan Doyle story ‘The Six Napoleons.’ On the other, it is also the title of an entry on John Watson’s blog (which you can read here). Finally the mystery of what the episode will contain is clearing up…

Here’s the official synopsis for the episode, courtesy of the BBC Media Centre:

In episode one of this new series, written by Mark Gatiss, Sherlock waits to see where Moriarty will make his posthumous move.

One mysterious case in particular baffles Scotland Yard – but Sherlock is more interested in a seemingly-trivial detail. Why is someone destroying images of the late Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher? Is there a madman on the loose? Or is there a much darker purpose at work? Something with its roots deep in Mary Watson’s past…

Benedict Cumberbatch returns as Sherlock Holmes, with Martin Freeman as John Watson, Mark Gatiss as Mycroft, Rupert Graves as Inspector Lestrade, Una Stubbs as Mrs Hudson, Amanda Abbington as Mary Watson and Louise Brealey as Molly Hooper.

There are several juicy details to pick up on here. Not least is the reveal that we will dig deeper into Mary’s past.

Only three and a bit more weeks until we get to find out at 8.30pm on January 1st!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s